Where Do I Belong?

It has been a few months now since I jumped back into this whole blogging thing and I’m having a wonderful time with it. Obviously, it is wonderful for me to get my thoughts and feelings out through my writing, which is always a medium I have enjoyed, but the initial responses from readers has given me that extra push to keep going.

After setting up the Facebook page for the blog, it was (and continues to be) very humbling to see the number of people who have chosen to follow along right off the bat. Of course, like any new blogger, I would love to see the number of people grow exponentially daily, but I am happy with all of you who follow along because you are active.

As I’ve said before, I want this blog, as well as the Facebook page, to be a conversation and not just me speaking at you. There are lessons I’ve learned in my life, will continue to learn and I look forward to sharing them with you as they come around. However, I’m also humble enough to realize the fact that it may be “my” blog, you all have different life experiences from me and have lessons you can teach me as well. You’ve already taught me a lot and I greatly anticipate the future lessons from my wonderful readers.

I’ve also had the opportunity to “meet” other bloggers who focus on a number of different topics on their sites, which has allowed me to discover their sites. I’m doing my own research as to what kind of blogs I enjoy reading and why I believe they are successful which, in turn, I hope to be able to take those lessons and craft this space into an online home for more and more readers.

This has caused me to wonder…where exactly do I fit in in the blogging world? There are countless categories for blogs and I still struggle to determine for myself which I belong to at this time.

Of course, I initially thought I belonged in the Daddy Bloggers community and, to a point, I do. I am VERY happy to be associated with so many amazing men who understand the role of fathers in a family, take those responsibilities as seriously as they do and love their children/families enough to share them with the world. However, I don’t write about my children and my experience as a parent all the time and don’t plan to either because I am open to writing about whatever lesson I learn in my life, even when it comes from a situation that doesn’t include my kids.

A Do-It-Yourself blogger? I can’t cook anything at this point in my life that isn’t a frozen pizza or a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I don’t plan to write a step-by-step blog post laying out how to “cook” those things. That is, unless you guys REALLY want me to do so. I also can’t build anything or make any crafts and I’m pretty much ok with that.

An “entertainment website?” Nope…because I’m not funny all the time. Yeah, I have my moments, but, as someone who deals with depression, there are dark moments in my life and I’m not going to shy away from sharing during those times. Life isn’t always sunshine and lollipops, so I’m well-aware those gray times can be amazing opportunities to learn, explore and grow as a human being.

Maybe I’m a “health” blogger since I’m trying to lose weight AND quit smoking. Nope…no, I’m not. You know why? There are (and will be times in the future, I suspect) where I make mistakes, slip up on my “diet” or smoke a cigarette. I’m also not going to shy away from those times because if I’m going through it and having momentary failures, somebody else is as well.

By the way, for those wondering…my health kick, as a whole, is going well, but not perfectly. Last week, I put on a couple pounds, but am still below where I started. I’ve also had a bit of a relapse in my attempt to quit smoking, but my desire remains and I wake up daily with a renewed desire to do my best that day. In the end, I recognize the progress I’ve made already and do not focus on the bad aspects. I’ll get to where I want to be if my will-power remains and it does.

In the end, I recognize I somewhat belong to ALL of these groups, yet also don’t completely fit in as well. There was a moment or two recently where I was disheartened with not being able to even categorize myself, but after some reflection, I came to this conclusion.

I don’t have to belong to a category. All I have to be is me. If I try to fit into any category completely, I very well may change who I am slightly and that isn’t something required. I can kind of belong to all of these groups, blending myself into the person I choose to be, the blogger I want to be and I find that very exciting.

In the end, I guess this is what I’m saying…

I’m going to be me. Sometimes I’m positive and sometimes I’m negative. Sometimes I feel like bragging about my children and sometimes they can challenge me. Sometimes my workouts and attempt to quit smoking go incredibly well and sometimes I’m lazy, stressed, eat a lot and need a smoke. Sometimes I believe I can be a pretty funny dude and sometimes I can be depressing.

Through all of these things about me—as well as the many other factors that contribute to who I am—there is one constant. I am someone always working to become a better person, whether that is through introspection or by learning lessons others write about and share. As I learn, I hope you will take the lessons that could apply to you and run with them however you choose.

22 thoughts on “Where Do I Belong?

  1. I’m right there with you on the blog genre struggle. Where many have a niche I, like you, have gone with the ‘nick nack’ method. As I read your words I found myself nodding my head in agreement. Keep up the great work on your blog and I look forward to stopping by again soon!

  2. If anything, at this point, you belong in an “honest-blogger” group. You’re not selling us anything, not trying to make a joke of our existence, not in it to win a race that nobody else is running. I respect that enormously. It is a difficult and vulnerable style to cultivate. This is the sort of writing that I follow.

  3. This is why I have two blog sites. One I started in April which is my anything and everything site but my new one which I’m commenting now under is my Dad Blog.

    The other blog has only had and will only have 8 articles a month whereas the dad one is one a day almost. But they are shorter stories as opposed to the lengthy ones on my all and sundry one. My other site is called The Squircle which is a shape that’s not a rounded square but halfway between a square and a circle. And that was for the purpose of establishing from day one, I will never know where I am supposed to fit in.

  4. It’s the evolution of a blog that I find interesting. I have only been blogging for 6 months when it started out only about raising a bilingual son, then about being an expat raising a bilingual son and now it’s about an expat in Brazil raising a bilingual son. Who knows where we are going to go next with our writing, but I think that is the reason we love blogging so much because it opens up so many interesting threads for us to follow.

  5. I had another, more personal blog before my current one, and I loved how it was about whatever. It was about politics, and about my kids, and my dogs, and anything else. After a while, though, because I gave myself the freedom to write about anything I wanted, I ran out of stuff to write about. It’s funny how that works, but the more I limit myself about what I can write, the more I have to write and the more I want to write. I hope it doesn’t happen to you, but if you do feel like you’ve run out of stuff to write about, know that limiting yourself might actually help.

    Good luck!

      • Sorry–Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. It’s the go-to organization for kidlit folk. I write teen fiction, but it ranges all the way down to baby-level picture books. Ever thought about writing middle grade (i.e., books for grades 3-6; Harry Potter, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the like fall into this category)? With your sports-writing background, could be a nice match. There’s a serious lack of boy books in that section of the bookstore, so editors are always looking for the next big thing.

        If you want more info, feel free to email me at sluttychristiandivorcee@gmail.com. That’s my anonymous account, but I’ll probably write you back from my real address (as long as you promise to keep it secret) if you want to dialogue about writing.

  6. I started blogging for my chldren’s books in 2007 with a focus that was directed to parents, educators and caregivers. Then in 2008 I started my own separate blog and have come to learn it is evolutionary. As you transform, so does your writing. I believe if you don’t know where it is leading, that’s okay! Just trust the process that it is leading you towards your purpose, which will be revealed to you. Write about the things that represent your authenticity, inspire you and others, cause you to question, provide perspectives, insight, tell stories and position you as a thought leader. Write when you have something to say. We hear people say they wished they had a blog, but you are doing it and It looks to me like you have a great start.!

Leave a Reply

