Another Big Day Tomorrow

Tomorrow will mark three weeks since I made my announcement and began this blog. Obviously, I plan to post more than one post per week usually, but as I began this transition in my life, I really needed time to process my next steps.

I want to thank everyone who took the time over the past few weeks to reach out to me with words of support, whether here on the blog, on Facebook or on Twitter. Although I was and continue to be confident in my decision, it is always nice to know you have support when making life changes. I appreciate all of you.

The past three weeks have been some of the best times I’ve had with my children, as I really tried to jump in with both feet, unplugging a good majority of the time I’m with them. Of course, old habits die hard and there have been slip ups from time to time, but as a whole, things are going well. Ethan and Alex really seem to be enjoying their newly acquired extra time with their Dad, a fact that makes me very proud.

However, tomorrow will also be another monumental change for me and is both an exciting day and one I’m dreading with my entire being. Tomorrow is the day I quit smoking.

I have been a smoker since I was 17-years old, starting during an evening of celebration following my high school graduation earlier in the day. That is a long time ago and, as I’m sure somebody will say, is way too long to be a smoker. You know, since one day…one cigarette…is too long. This will not be my first attempt to quit smoking, but with the life changes happening recently, it is a perfect time to finally do it.

My last attempt to quit smoking came about a year and a half ago when I quit on New Year’s Day of 2011. Knowing myself, I felt it was best to use nicotine patches, rather than going the cold turkey route and I did well…for a month and a half. I slipped for an evening, thinking I could be the guy to have a smoke or two with a drink or two and not pick the pack up again the next morning.

I was wrong. I’m not that guy.

While preparing for tomorrow, I’ve spent quite a lot of time researching how to quit and be successful. However, there really is no “right way,” as it is a different experience for everyone going through it, but I believe I have my plan of action and tomorrow is the day I embark on that journey.

After all, I made the decision to start a new life recently. I want this new life to be a long one, right?

Say a prayer and send good vibes my way tonight. Tomorrow is a big day.

3 thoughts on “Another Big Day Tomorrow

  1. Wtg StePhen. Keep your chin up and your loved ones close and in great times of despair try to find your spiritual outlet to aid you. Best of luck my friend!

Leave a Reply

